Independent aviation software directory

Find the right tools for your flying.

Compare aviation apps, AI study tools and radio trainers, with clear pricing sources, access notes and platform details.

Browse aviation tools

41 tools
EFB / flight planning Trial or demo

ForeFlight

EFB for iPhone and iPad with planning, charts, weather and a logbook; companion web planning is included with subscriptions.

Pricing
USD $130/yr Starter; $260/yr Essential; $390/yr Premium. One region included; add-ons extra.
Access
30-day initial trial; paid subscription thereafter. Trial excludes flight-plan filing and some other features.
Platforms
iOS, Web

Source checked

EFB / flight planning Trial or demo

Garmin Pilot

EFB for iOS and Android with flight planning, charts, weather, a logbook and compatible Garmin avionics connectivity. Features vary by platform and region.

Pricing
US App Store lists Standard $109.99 and US Premium $209.99; confirm billing period, region and add-ons before purchase.
Access
30-day initial-download trial; paid subscription thereafter.
Platforms
iOS, Android

Source checked

EFB / flight planning Trial or demo

SkyDemon

VFR flight-planning and moving-map software for iPad, iPhone, Android and Windows PC, with a focus on European flying.

Pricing
USD $139 first year; $115 annual renewal on the US-currency store. Regional prices and chart add-ons vary.
Access
30-day trial; paid subscription thereafter.
Platforms
iOS, Android, Windows

Source checked

EFB / flight planning Trial or demo

WingX

Mobile EFB for iOS and Android with moving-map, weather and compatible ADS-B features; features and subscriptions vary.

Pricing
Vendor lists Base $74.99 and Advanced IFR $74.99; billing period is not stated on that page.
Access
One-time 30-day trial; no ongoing free core tier verified.
Platforms
iOS, Android

Source checked

EFB / flight planning Trial or demo

OzRunways

Region-based EFB subscriptions for Australia, New Zealand and other regions. OzRunways serves iOS; RWY is the Android companion, with a macOS desktop app.

Pricing
12-month subscriptions vary by region and plan; check the vendor for current totals.
Access
30-day trial; paid regional subscription thereafter.
Platforms
iOS, Android, Mac

Source checked

EFB / flight planning Ongoing free access

FlightKit

Browser-based study and preflight toolbox with weather, charts, calculations, logbook/currency tools and an AI examiner. Vendor says it complements an EFB rather than replacing navigation.

Pricing
Free plan; Pilot USD $99/yr or $9.99/mo; Pro $159/yr or $19.99/mo.
Access
Ongoing free weather, charts, airport directory and reading; 7-day Pro trial is separate.
Platforms
Web

Source checked

AI checkride prep Trial or demo

Sporty's Pilot Training (ChatFAR / ChatDPE / ChatCFI)

Sporty's Instrument Rating Course includes ChatDPE, ChatFAR and ChatCFI study tools alongside video lessons and test prep. Available online and through iOS/Android apps.

Pricing
Instrument course USD $299 one-time with lifetime updates; other courses have separate prices.
Access
Free course demo and selected study content; full Instrument course is paid.
Platforms
Web, iOS, Android

Source checked

AI checkride prep Access needs checking

ChatDPE

Voice-first iOS mock-oral study app in TestFlight/waitlist stage. Private, Instrument and Commercial are listed; vendor says Commercial ASEL is most complete. Public App Store launch is not yet listed.

Pricing
Pricing not published on the public product page.
Access
TestFlight beta / waitlist; public paid or free access terms not verified.
Platforms
iOS

Source checked

AI checkride prep Trial or demo

Checkride.bot

iPhone/iPad voice oral-exam practice across vendor-listed FAA certificate and aircraft categories, with ACS-oriented feedback and references.

Pricing
Airplane PPL/IR USD $49.99, Commercial $59.99, CFI $79.99 per non-renewing 30-day pass; other categories vary.
Access
One task per exam can be tried free; full exam access is paid for 30 days.
Platforms
iOS

Source checked

AI checkride prep Ongoing free access

GroundScholar

AI study drills, oral/scenario practice and FAA reference library, centered on Private Pilot. Other rating tracks have roadmap dates rather than confirmed current availability.

Pricing
Free plan; Private Pilot Written Pass USD $49 one-time, active until the knowledge test is passed.
Access
5 drill questions/day, 1 oral session/month, 4 scenarios/month and reference library on the ongoing free plan.
Platforms
Web

Source checked

AI checkride prep Trial or demo

CheckrideReady

Browser-based AI oral-exam practice for Private, Instrument and Commercial. Voice mode requires Base+ or Premium; instructor portal requires Premium. Written prep is listed as coming soon.

Pricing
Base USD $19.99/mo; Base+ $29.99/mo; Premium $39.99/mo. Annual options also listed.
Access
7-day trial with 1 session/day; full oral exams and voice mode are excluded from the trial.
Platforms
Web

Source checked

ATC / radio practice Access needs checking

Comms: AI Pilot Training

KHV Digital voice-based AI ATC practice app for iPhone and iPad. Features are developer descriptions; response quality has not been tested here.

Pricing
Free download with paid in-app purchases. US store lists $14.99 monthly and multiple annual offers; confirm the applicable offer in-app.
Access
Free download; ongoing free practice allowance is not verified.
Platforms
iOS

Source checked

ATC / radio practice Ongoing free access

PlaneEnglish ARSim

PlaneEnglish radio-communications simulator with speech recognition, practice scenarios and feedback. Available on iOS, Android and the web.

Pricing
Free lessons plus subscriptions. US iOS store lists VFR $9.99/mo, VFR+IFR $15.99/mo or $95.99/yr; regional/platform offers vary.
Access
Selected BASICS, AIRPORT, PATTERN, GLOSSARY and RESOURCES content is free; full training requires a trial/subscription.
Platforms
iOS, Android, Web

Source checked

AI checkride prep Access needs checking

PocketDPE

PocketDPE is an iPhone/iPad AI voice oral-practice app with scenario questions and ACS-oriented feedback. Features are developer descriptions, not hands-on findings.

Pricing
Free download; US in-app purchases list Pro $39.99/mo, $129.99/yr or $19.99/week.
Access
Free download; ongoing free oral-practice allowance is not verified.
Platforms
iOS

Source checked

Ground school / study Trial or demo

Gold Seal Online Ground School

Interactive online ground-school courses for Private, Instrument, Commercial and Multi-Engine; an established training provider rather than an AI-first product.

Pricing
Private Pilot USD $229 for the first year, then $60 annual renewal; other courses/options vary.
Access
Free course test drive/demo; full courses are paid.
Platforms
Web

Source checked

Ground school / study Ongoing free access

FAR/BOT

Beta AI assistant for questions about FAA regulations and selected publications. Its own notice says the document set is limited and responses must be checked.

Pricing
Free plan; Pro USD $20/mo. Annual offer requires vendor confirmation.
Access
Free plan includes 3 prompts; the page does not establish a reset period.
Platforms
Web

Source checked

Ground school / study Ongoing free access

Boldmethod

Aviation training publisher with free public articles and quizzes plus paid courses. Instrument Procedures offers video lessons, search, quizzes and progress tracking.

Pricing
Instrument Procedures course USD $499.99 one-time, lifetime access.
Access
Public articles and quizzes are free; full Instrument Procedures course is paid.
Platforms
Web, iOS, Mac, Windows

Source checked

ASA

Aviation Supplies & Academics publishes pilot handbooks, test preparation and aviation study products. Product formats and supported devices vary.

Pricing
Paid books, software and training products; prices vary by product.
Access
Core products are sold separately; free reference/sample materials do not establish a free full test-prep tier.
Platforms
Not verified

Source checked

Ground school / study Ongoing free access

Part Time Pilot

Online Private, Sport and Instrument ground schools with written/audio lessons and instructor support. Separate paid AI ATC/mock-oral tools are available.

Pricing
Ground school USD $249.99 per listed Private/Sport/IFR course; separate AI tools $67/mo. Bundles and add-ons vary.
Access
Selected public written/audio ground-school lessons are free; complete courses and AI simulators are paid.
Platforms
Web

Source checked

Weather / briefing Ongoing free access

Windy

Visual weather-model maps and forecast comparisons with free and Premium features. Supplement official aviation briefings and current operational sources.

Pricing
Free features plus paid Premium; current regional price not verified.
Access
Ongoing free weather features; some forecast detail and planning features require Premium.
Platforms
Web

Source checked

Weather / briefing Ongoing free access

AeroPointer (Pilotscafe)

Pilotscafe iPhone/iPad reference globe for airports, navaids and weather. Version 4 includes AIRMET/SIGMET graphics free. Vendor says supplemental reference, not flight planning/navigation.

Pricing
Free iPhone/iPad app; v4 AIRMET/SIGMET graphics included.
Access
Free app, no account and no ads according to vendor.
Platforms
iOS

Source checked

Logbooks Ongoing free access

LogTen

Pilot logbook for iPhone/iPad, with macOS features included in Pro. Plan features and import options differ.

Pricing
Basic USD $79.99/yr; Pro $129.99/yr.
Access
Free for the first 50 logged hours; subscription needed beyond that limit.
Platforms
iOS, Mac

Source checked

Logbooks Ongoing free access

Wingman

Cross-platform pilot logbook with roster import options and logbook exports.

Pricing
Pro USD $4.99/mo, billed annually (USD $59.88/yr).
Access
Free plan up to 250 logged hours; roster import trial is limited to 50 sectors.
Platforms
iOS, Android, Web

Source checked

Logbooks Ongoing free access

CrewLounge PILOTLOG

Cross-platform pilot logbook for general aviation and professional flying, with desktop/mobile apps, roster imports and report formats.

Pricing
Web prices: Enterprise EUR 39.99/yr; Enterprise+ EUR 46.99/yr. Mobile-store prices differ.
Access
Free Student edition logs up to 100 flights; paid plans unlock unlimited records.
Platforms
Windows, Mac, iOS, Android

Source checked

Logbooks Ongoing free access

Logger

Pilot logbook for iPhone, iPad and Mac with imports, reports and signatures; one subscription covers iOS and Mac.

Pricing
Vendor pricing page shows both USD $29.99/yr and $47.88/yr in different sections; confirm the current in-app offer.
Access
First 50 flights free with all features; ongoing logging beyond the limit is paid.
Platforms
iOS, Mac

Source checked

Logbooks Ongoing free access

Aviator Archive

Local-first pilot logbook available for Windows and Linux. Android/iOS are in private testing and macOS is in development according to the vendor.

Pricing
USD $199 one-time for the logbook; cloud AI scan credits are a separately metered extra.
Access
Free up to 100 logged hours on Windows/Linux; no time limit stated.
Platforms
Windows, Linux

Source checked

Sim / trainers Ongoing free access

Infinite Flight

Mobile flight simulator for iOS and Android. Free sample aircraft/regions are available; global flying, multiplayer, live weather and human ATC require Pro.

Pricing
Free core simulator; paid Pro subscription, current price not verified on the public page.
Access
Functional sample aircraft and flying regions free; Pro features are paid.
Platforms
iOS, Android

Source checked

Instructor tools Access needs checking

CFI Endorsement Generator (Jason Blair)

Jason Blair browser tool for generating printable CFI endorsement drafts. Not AI; instructors must verify current Part 61 and AC 61-65 wording before signing.

Pricing
Public tool; price not stated on the reviewed page.
Access
No published pricing found; free-use entitlement not independently verified.
Platforms
Web

Source checked